Thursday, 22 April 2021

The Moonlit Murders - Fliss Chester

 When a journey to New York is interrupted by missing diamonds and a body in the lifeboat, there is



only one woman who can help: Fen Churche!


1945Fen Churche follows her dreams and sails for New York. She books passage on a steamship from France to America, excited to dance the night away in the glamorous ballroom and play games on deck. Nothing will stand in the way of her trip, not even when an eccentric heiress’s diamond tiara goes missing

Looking forward to relaxing with her favourite crossword puzzles, Fen’s quiet passage is horribly disrupted by another crime – this time a murder. Fen finds Genie, a young actress bound for Broadway, strangled in her own cabin. With no police onboard and a frantic captain, Fen decides to do a little snooping of her own.

When another body turns up, hidden in a lifeboat, whilst the ship is in the middle of the Atlantic, Fen feels sure these dreadful crimes are linked. Through her sleuthing, she meets light-hearted lieutenants returning from the war, charming cabin boys and snooty first-class passengers who look down their nose at her. But it isn’t until Fen realises that one person is missing from the passenger list that she is finally on the murderer’s trail.

With only rolling waves and sea mists for company, can Fen solve the case before they dock in New York and the killer escapes for good?

You’ll be utterly hooked from page one of this warm and witty cozy! An absolute treat for fans of Agatha Christie, T.E. Kinsey and Jacqueline Winspear.

Author Bio:

Fliss Chester lives in Surrey with her husband and writes historical cozy crime. When she is not killing people off in her 1940s whodunnits, she helps her husband, who is a wine merchant, run their business. Never far from a decent glass of something, Fliss also loves cooking (and writing up her favourite recipes on her blog), enjoying the beautiful Surrey and West Sussex countryside and having a good natter.


Buy Links:

My Review


The Moonlit Murders (A Fen Churche Mystery #3)The Moonlit Murders by Fliss Chester
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Some of my favourite series are historical murder mysteries and The Fen Churche Mysteries are quickly joining these titles. Set in the period immediately following the second world war, the first two books followed Fen in France as she looked for evidence of what happened to her fiance and then made her way back to England. Now, leaving France, she makes a detour and travels to New York.
As seems to happen around Fen, it isn't long before something mysterious happens. First with the theft of some near priceless jewels and then with a murder. Fen, with the help of the lovely James, soon starts sniffing around and trying to get to the bottom of what has happened.
Although it's not just Fen who does the sleuthing in these books, James does take more of a supportive role and it's definitely Fen who leads the investigations. James is there to help her out when she needs an extra pair of hands, or just to look after her when things get a bit much.
I really enjoy these stories and can't wait to find out what happens to Fen next. Will she make it back to England before finding herself caught up in something else. It's clear that there's more to James' story than he's shared as yet and he's far from keen to face up to his family responsibilities.
This was a fantastic read and Fen is fast becoming a bit of a favourite with me.
I received a complimentary copy of this book through NetGalley. The opinions expressed in this review are completely my own.

View all my reviews



No comments:

Post a comment